Treebal

Eco-conception

Environmental impacts were taken into account from the conception of Treebal.

Une plante et quelqu'un se donnent la main

Why is digital eco-conception essential ?

Contrary to what one might think, digital technology is not intangible and its environmental impacts are very real. Thus, the digital sector is now responsible for 4% of global greenhouse gas emissions and the sharp increase in usage suggests a 50% growth of this carbon footprint by 2025 according to ADEME. This is why it is essential to take into account the environmental impact of digital solutions from their conception.

The aim of digital eco-conception is to reduce the negative environmental impacts of a product by taking into account all stages of its life cycle.

How is the Treebal application eco-designed?

The environmental dimension was taken into account from the conception of Treebal, from the first "design thinking" workshops to the realization of the application itself, and we are part of a continuous improvement process.

Our R&D teams have been trained in fundamentals of the responsible digital and received Green IT certification. From the very beginning the functional and technical choices responded to an objective of digital sobriety and use in order to limit the environmental footprint of the application :

To ensure compliance with eco-conception requirements, and to continuously measure and improve Treebal's environmental impact, we are supported by various experts including the Green IT collective :

Green IT

The Green IT collective, created in 2004, brings together a community of responsible digital players who are interested in digital sobriety, the ecodesign of digital services, lowtech, and more generally in a digital future alternative;

GreenIT

IT’s On Us

IT’s On Us is a collective of professionals whose mission is to reduce the negative impacts of digital technology (social, environmental and economic) and to put digital technology at the service of sustainable development.

IT's on us

What are the benefits ?

The benefits of eco-conception are multiple :

  • Environmental impact : as you understood, the first benefit of eco-conception is the control of the environmental impact. The use of Treebal allows to have a lower carbon footprint than using non-eco-designed instant messaging.
  • Hardware lifespan : Treebal is designed to reduce the amount of resources required for its operation. The first factor of environmental impact being related to the material, Treebal is making it possible to extend the lifespan of electronic material and thus fight against accelerated obsolescence, In addition, Treebal is compatible with older versions of Android and iOS, which also helps keep hardware longer.
  • User experience : The loading times of the Treebal application and the screens are optimized, considerably and lastingly improving the user experience.
  • Accessibility of services : the design and ergonomics are optimized to ensure maximum accessibility, especially in the event of visual impairment.

* according to the EENM2019 study by GreenIT.fr

Treebal

Éco-conception

Les impacts environnementaux ont été pris en compte dès la conception de Treebal.

Une plante et quelqu'un se donnent la main

Pourquoi l’éco-conception numérique est-elle essentielle ?

Contrairement à ce que l’on peut penser, le numérique n’a rien d’immatériel et ses impacts environnementaux sont bien réels. Ainsi, le secteur du numérique est aujourd’hui responsable de 4% des émissions mondiales de gaz à effet de serre et la forte augmentation des usages laisse présager une croissance de cette empreinte carbone de +50% d'ici 2025*. C’est pourquoi il est essentiel de prendre en compte l’impact environnemental des solutions numériques dès leur conception.

L’éco-conception numérique a pour objectif de réduire les impacts environnementaux négatifs d’un produit en prenant en compte toutes les étapes de son cycle de vie.

En quoi l’application Treebal est-elle éco-conçue ?

La dimension environnementale a été prise en compte dès la conception de Treebal, depuis les premiers ateliers de « design thinking » jusqu’à la réalisation de l’application elle-même, et nous nous inscrivons dans une démarche d’amélioration continue.

Notre équipe R&D a été formée aux fondamentaux du numérique responsable et a reçu la certification Green IT. Les choix fonctionnels et techniques ont répondu dès le début à un objectif de sobriété numérique et d’usage dans le but de limiter l’empreinte environnementale de l’application :

Pour nous assurer du respect des exigences d’éco-conception, mesurer et améliorer en permanence l’impact environnemental de Treebal, nous sommes accompagnés par différents experts dont le collectif Green IT :

Green IT

Créé en 2004, le collectif GreenIT rassemble une communauté d’acteurs du numérique responsable qui s’intéressent à la sobriété numérique, à l’écoconception des services numériques, à la lowtech , et plus globalement à un avenir numérique alternatif.

GreenIT

IT’s On Us

IT’s On Us est un collectif de professionnels ayant pour missions de réduire les impacts négatifs du numérique (sociaux, environnementaux et économiques) et de mettre le numérique au service du développement durable.

IT's on us

Quels sont les bénéfices ?

Les bénéfices de l’éco-conception sont multiples :

  • Impact environnemental : vous l’aurez compris, le premier bénéfice de l’éco-conception est la maîtrise de l’impact environnemental. L’usage de Treebal a une empreinte carbone inférieure à celle d’une messagerie instantanée non éco-conçue.
  • Durée de vie du matériel : Treebal est conçue pour réduire la quantité de ressources nécessaires à son fonctionnement, permettant de rallonger leur durée de vie et ainsi lutter contre l’obsolescence accélérée, le premier facteur d’impacts environnementaux étant lié au matériel. Par ailleurs, Treebal est compatible avec des anciennes versions d’Android et iOS, ce qui contribue également à conserver le matériel plus longtemps.
  • Expérience utilisateur : les temps de chargement de l’application Treebal et des écrans sont optimisés, améliorant considérablement et durablement l’expérience utilisateur.
  • Accessibilité des services : le design et l’ergonomie sont optimisés pour assurer une accessibilité maximale, notamment en cas de handicap visuel.

* selon l'étude EENM2019 de GreenIT.fr